Revisions Are Your Friend

It’s my job to supervise when Cindy is working on my story. Which has been a lot lately. That’s because we got a revision letter from a big publisher! This is AWESOME news because it means an editor likes my story!

If you’re like me, I’m sure you’re thinking, “Duh, what’s not to like?”

Well . . . a few things, I guess. That’s what the letter was about—ways the editor wanted us to change the story.

At first I was pretty ticked. But Cindy patted my imaginary head and told me revisions are what makes a story even better.

Better is good! So then I was raring to go.

For about a week, Cindy muttered to herself and scribbled constantly in her red spiral notebook. She also spent hours and hours staring at a big piece of cardboard covered with sticky notes. It was driving me crazy! I mean, come on, we can’t sit around playing with color-coded sticky notes when there’s work to be done!

That editor is waiting!

Finally Cindy sat down at her computer to write and I curled up in my usual spot on her lap so we could work. This is what her desk looks like when she is writing.

When we’re finished making the story even more amazing, our agent will send it back for the editor to look at again.

Then comes the hard part. Waiting and waiting with my whiskers crossed. Stay tuned, I’ll keep you posted.

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Publishers, The Book and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

95 Responses to Revisions Are Your Friend

  1. Rachel says:

    I hope the revision will be as good as it is now because I LOVE it! are you a himalan or a siamese I’m confused? I have a cat that’s a Siamese and he’s name is Nemo.

  2. kalenakai says:

    hey flash i love your book it has TONS of adventure do you think you can send me a picture of you?

  3. kalenakai says:

    have ever last your sly-ness

  4. Jack says:

    About when will you and Cindy send the new and improved book to the publisher? They should accept it, if they know what a good book looks like. I can’t wait to buy your book in the future.

    • I hope you’re right! We’re hoping to send in the new version in a couple weeks. Our agent will read it first, to see if she has any suggestions for us to work on before she sends it on to the publisher.

  5. Rachel says:

    Is Dewey based on the tabby cat from Spencer, Iowa who lived in the libraey. If i read that book and I love the Deweys in both of the stories.

  6. chris says:

    hi im chris mrs. Mccollum student in library she read book 1&2 two to us they were great

  7. chris says:

    do you like meatloaf all it is is fat it’s bad what is your 2nt favorite food?

  8. chris says:

    lol the books were great

  9. chris says:

    flash the siamese cat.if you could be a human what would you do?

  10. chris says:

    are you a detective right, how did you find out where thehat was?

  11. chrissaidhi says:

    hi im someone i like cheese have you ever had cheesey meatloaf

  12. chrissaidhi says:

    hi im someone i like cheese have you ever had a cheesey potato at the dumpster

  13. chrissaidhi says:

    hi im chris do you like to play wiht dogs if so say yes

  14. kalenakai says:

    do you like any other animals flash i have a pet fish also and he has lived 4 more than 4 years now his name is Marlo

  15. kalenakai says:

    yes i love chocolate

  16. Miss.Sugar says:

    Flash what animal do you like besides a cat?
    Mine is a rat horse and dog and much more.

  17. Miss.Sugar says:

    Flash promise me you will be a good superviser for Cindy. O.K.

  18. kalenakai says:

    about a month a bee stung me on the bottom of foot so now i have 2 bad feet

  19. kat says:

    kat is my ney name and noooo : {

Leave a Reply

