The Cat in the Hat

I’m feeling a lot better now, thanks. Once I thought about it a little more, I realized that you never really stopped liking me. And that’s why I have to tell you, I love all my fans at Berthoud Elementary! Do you know that some of them even gave up their lunch recess once a week to hear the librarian read my story? Now that’s dedication! Of course, when the story is as good as mine, who wouldn’t want to skip recess to hear it?

There are other cat books out there, like The Cat in the Hat by some guy named Dr. Seuss. I hear it’s a pretty good story, but honestly, which would you rather read? A book called The Cat in the Hat or one called Flash, Feline Extraordinaire?

That’s what I thought.

So I’ve been thinking. I haven’t actually read The Cat in the Hat myself, but I can’t help but wonder where he got his idea. Because it occurred to me that my story has a cat and it also has a hat. Do you think he stole my storyline? The nerve of that guy!

Of course, I don’t wear the hat in my story, so maybe it’s completely different.

What?

Oh. Dewey says The Cat in the Hat was published in 1957. Dewey’s the Information Officer on my team. He’s a library cat, so he knows all kinds of random information. Believe me, he can be kind of annoying sometimes.

Okay, okay, I’ll give them the link and they can look it up if they want. Dewey says to click on the orange words and you can go to Dr. Seuss’s official website.

He says he snooped through all Cindy’s books and she still has her copy from when she was a little kid. He showed me all these books she kept, plus a lot more. You can see they are pretty worn out, she must have read them a lot!

Dewey says maybe I should read The Cat in the Hat before I go spouting my mouth off about things I know nothing about.

I think Dewey should mind his own business. It’s not his turn yet, is it?

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation, Dewey, Flash Has Attitude and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to The Cat in the Hat

  1. Mr.Maniac says:

    title=”We like you!”
    That’s right flash we never stopped likeing you.
    title=”Dewey is right”
    Dewey is right, the cat in the hat really was published before your book.

  2. Hayley says:

    I love Cat in The Hat!! He reminds me of you Flash!!!! = )

  3. Hayley says:

    Yes flash and you are both VERY handsome too!!!!!!!!!!!!!! = ]

  4. LLLL says:

    Flash, Dr. Seuss was shy when he was alive. Is Cindy shy?

  5. Anna says:

    If you click on this link you will go to a very cute picture of a cat.
    Flash you will like it and I am sure of it.

  6. Kaitlynn says:

    i think you`ll like The Cat in the Hat Flash!!!!!!!!!!!!! Mrs. mcullum read some to us on Dr. Suess Day! i think they are good but that`s just my opinion 🙂

    • I’m reading it now. So far it’s pretty good!

      • Dot says:

        Dr. Seuss was really good at writing fun books with little words for kids just learning to read. He also wrote some with hard made up goofy words. He wrote some really good stories just for fun and some to teach a lesson. Your book is for older kids who can already read well. It is a lot longer than any Dr. Seuss wrote. It is really fun to read. You need to read Horton Hatches the Egg. You will like Horton the elephant. He is the main character like you are in your book.

  7. Jack says:

    The Cat in the Hat is a good book, but I think I’d rather read your book. I also think that if you were reading to a four year old, you might want to go with The Cat in the Hat. Younger kids might not understand your book.

  8. Anna says:

    When I was about 5 or 6 I was reading his books and he had some goofy words that were hard
    to pernounce when I was that age.

  9. Anna says:

    They are pretty easy books for me to read now.

    • Yeah, they are pretty easy except for those funny made up words. But those silly words are fun to hear, aren’t they? Dr. Seuss was a good rhymer, that’s for sure!

  10. Anna says:

    He is a great writer!

  11. kalenakai says:

    like your good at math

Leave a Reply

