The Waiting Game (Part 1)

As I reported last week, Cindy and I completed Step 2 of Operation Get My Book Published. Now we’re playing the waiting game. Our Agent Extraordinaire, Ammi-Joan Paquette, said she would read it as soon as she could. But first she had to go on a trip to New Orleans to an American Library Association Conference.

Before you get all huffy, don’t forget that these kinds of trips are where agents practice their agent-y magic when they chat with editors from different publishing companies. They say things like, “I’m representing this great book about a cat named Flash. He’s the most amazing character ever. Why don’t I send it to you? I’m sure you’ll love his VOICE!”

And sometimes that’s how books get sold.

So, we’re trying to be patient. Cindy is doing better than I am. She pats my imaginary head and says, “It’s okay, Flash. We know all about waiting. We’re very good at it now.”

But you know what they say about cats and curiosity. I don’t want to wait! My whiskers are itching like crazy! I want to know what Joan thinks about our revisions NOW! Don’t you?

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Agents, Flash Has Attitude, Publishers, The Book and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Waiting Game (Part 1)

  1. Dot says:

    Yes, I do!!!!!! I must be part cat. I am not very good at waiting. But I am trying to be patient.

  2. Anna and Jeromiah says:

    Flash, how early do u get up?

  3. Anna and Jeromiah says:

    We like to sleep in whenever we can. + we are not brother and sister.(If u were wondering) We are just friends. 🙂

  4. Jack says:

    Well, it is good that you have an agent now, but I do really want to know when the book will be out to the public. If you get a good publisher, you could have your book be famous throughout the country! So it could be a good thing you have to wait.

  5. Hayley says:

    Flash you are most very faavorite cat in the whole entire world. You do more than my cat the only time i see her is when she wants food. She mostly hangs out in our basement. = ]

  6. Hayley says:

    Nope she is scared of Spiders. She gose down there because she is SOOO SCARED of my dog. 😉 When is Ringo going to post the qustions people have for him. 😉

    • Ahh. So she is a scaredy-cat! Aren’t I funny? I’m letting Ringo answer his first two questions tomorrow. Then he’ll have to do the others another day, I haven’t decided when. But he is begging a LOT so it will probably be soon!

  7. Hayley says:

    Thanks for letting me know flash. That’s a funny joke too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

