Exciting New Updates!

Operation Blog Update: Yesterday we passed 7,000 hits. That’s pretty impressive considering the blog didn’t go live until the first week in May. Goes to show what great fans I have. If you’re reading this, please pat yourself on the back!

Revision Update: The major work that our agent suggested is done. Cindy will now be reading it over several times to check for typos, little plot mistakes, and other picky writerly things. Now is the time it has to be the very best it can be. As soon as Cindy is done, probably early next week, we’ll send it back to our Agent Extraordinaire. She’ll look over it one more time and if she thinks it’s ready (cross your fingers!) she’ll send it off to the PUBLISHER to read again.

At that point it will be time for another waiting game that could very well last several months. Don’t think we’ll be sitting around twiddling our thumbs. (I mean Cindy, not me. I don’t have any thumbs!) She will get back to work on another story she started last summer. Yes, I will continue to help her, even though I don’t like this story nearly as much since it doesn’t have ME in it.

Anyway, the Publisher could tell us several things when the waiting game is over. 1. No. Ugh. I don’t like this option, so we’ll pretend it doesn’t exist, okay? 2. Maybe. They could possibly ask for even MORE revisions! Which wouldn’t be great, but is better than option 1. Or 3. YES!!!!! ***Ding! Ding! Ding!*** That’s the answer we want to hear!

I’ll keep you updated every step along the way. Stay tuned, and let’s go for 8,000!

And now . . . Drumroll please! It’s time for

Anna wants to know, “Flash, which night did you like at the dump?”

I assume you mean the dumpster. My favorite daily special is Meatloaf night. It’s SOOOO good! But I also like Catfish night and Build a Burger night. Pretty much all the food at the Sunflower Café is delicious, even as leftovers in the garbage!

Carly asks, “Do you have any other human friends?”

Not really. Just Eric. In the new version of the story after the revisions, I used to live with a man named Chester. You’ll have to read the book to find out why, but I ran away from him. Luckily I found Eric and we lived happily ever after!

Cora’s question is this: “How does Cindy act when she is writing her books?”

Well, let’s see, that’s a good question. Sometimes she is really distracted because she keeps thinking about the story even when she is doing something else like making dinner. That’s also when she carries around a notebook to write down little bits of ideas as soon as they come to her. Sometimes she is grumpy if she can’t figure things out. And sometimes she is REALLY excited when she gets great ideas. Don’t tell her, but usually those great ideas are the ones that I give her!

Well, that’s it again for this week. Next Friday we’ll have more “Ask Flash!” I just LOVE my blog! Thanks for reading!

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Agents, Ask Flash, Flash Has Attitude, Publishers, The Book and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Exciting New Updates!

  1. Jack says:

    That’s really good that we have 7,000 hits! I’m glad that the book is almost done. I can’t wait to see it finished. What is the next book Cindy and you are going to write? It’s a bummer it won’t have you in it, but I would like to read it too.

    • Thanks, Jack! The next book is about a boy who gets special powers from a meteorite that crashes into his house. It needs a lot of work. But it is a pretty good story, I have to admit. Actually though, I’m hoping the editor will buy my story and ask for the sequel, too. Then we can write about ME some more!

  2. J. Anderson Coats says:

    Good luck, Flash! Paws crossed for good news!

  3. Dot says:

    Flash, my fingers are crossed for option 3. Maybe it won’t take months. Maybe other authors are taking a vacation right now while you and Cindy are working away.

  4. Kaitlynn says:

    Wow!!!!!!!! That`s so cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Congrats!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  5. Hayley says:

    I love Exciting New Updates!!!!!!!

  6. Hayley says:

    GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

