Behind the Scenes

Things have been pretty busy around our house lately—which is a good thing, because it gives us less time to think about certain editors who might be reading our manuscript right this VERY MINUTE!

All this busyness probably won’t slow down until the “S” word starts in a couple weeks. Sorry, I know you don’t want to think about “you know what” yet! So just pretend I never mentioned it, okay?

Anyway, like I was saying, Cindy’s been busy. But she has been thinking about that new story I was telling you about last week. This is her plot board. I wasn’t kidding about the sticky notes, was I? Did you know this is one of the crazy ways writers work on their stories?

In the picture you can see two of her real cats, Molly and Misty, acting like they’re being helpful. Don’t believe it for a second. I’m the only professional “mews” around here!

So far, her plot board has shown Cindy that her story needs lots of fixing. She’s starting to figure out what she needs to do, but she doesn’t know exactly how she’s going to do it. She’s pretty smart, though. I’m sure with my help she’ll have it whipped into shape soon after that pesky “S” word starts and she’s got some peace and quiet around the house.

In the meantime, we still have one of my two favorite days of the week . . .

Some people say cats can’t smile. But as you can see, that is obviously untrue!

Flash (By FC)

My lovely long fur is the reason so many thistles get caught in my tail.

Flash (By Derek H.)

My ears are perked and listening. Do you remember how many muscles each ear has?

Flash (By Jamie)

An illustration of The Dander Zapper scene, complete with its cardboard packing box and the outlet I used to plug it in.

The Dander Zapper (By Landon)

And finally, the invention that is the cause of all the trouble in my story.

The Interspecies Translator, aka The Legacy (By EJ)

And that’s it for this week! I hope you enjoyed all the pictures as much as I did! See you on Friday for “Ask Flash!” You won’t want to miss it!

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Flash Has Attitude, See Flash, The New Book and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Behind the Scenes

  1. Cheryl Courtney says:

    Amazing! thanks for sharing the pics and the drawings. Plot boards Unite!

  2. Hayley says:

    LOTS of Sticky Notes And LOTS of good pictures. 😉

  3. Dot says:

    Hey Flash, wish I knew what is on those yellow sticky notes. Molly looks like she has some good suggestions. Did you know I have some letters typed by Molly, Misty, and Snickers? I read them to BES students in years past.

  4. Dot says:

    Flash, do you think most of your fans are looking forward to the new school year? It won’t be long now.

  5. Kaitlynn says:

    Thai is a lot of sticky notes oh and when is the genral going to answer his questions?

  6. Kaitlynn says:

    Sounds good! can`t wait

  7. Kaitlynn says:

    okay sounds good

Leave a Reply

