Another Feline Fact From Dewey

My apologies for the headline being a bit misleading. The following information actually contains several facts, not just one. See if you can keep track and guess how many at the end of my presentation.

Have you ever noticed cats with splotches of orange and black? If their fur is mostly white with some orange and black it’s called a “calico.” But if their fur is mostly orange and black with little or no white it’s called a “tortoiseshell.” You can see a picture of them on Wikipedia if you click here.

That cat is also a girl.

How do I know? Because in cats the gene for both the orange and black color are on the X chromosome. Girls have two Xs. So a girl cat could have one X with orange and the other with black. Boys have one X and one Y. So a boy cat could have orange or black, but not both!

Very interesting, isn’t it? Maybe Cindy should have a calico or tortoiseshell cat in one of her books. If you paid attention you should know whether it would be a boy or a girl!

Now count up the facts you just learned. Then after you read “Ask Flash!” check at the bottom of this post for my answer and leave me a comment to tell me if we came up with the same number.

Here’s Flash:

Well that was interesting, but I know you’ve been waiting all week for . . .

Anna B. asks, “Are you sure that Kitty Nibbles taste like sawdust?”

That’s an easy question. The answer is YES. If you don’t believe me, you can taste them yourself!

Dot wants to know, “Do you know any girl cats?”

I know Ginger. She’s a new character in the latest revisions, an orange tabby who lives next door to me and Chester at the very beginning of the story. After what Dewey taught us today, we know Cindy could have made Ginger a calico or tortoiseshell instead. I also knew my mother and my sister, but they were cut out of the new revisions all together.

Jack has this question: “What does the TEAM do when you have no crime to fight?”

Good question. I don’t know yet. So far there’s always been a bad guy on the prowl. If I had to guess, I’d say we’d hang around the dumpster and eat meatloaf, maybe stalk some squirrels to keep our secret agent skills sharp, and take a nap in the sun.

And now back to Dewey:

Hello again. I came up with 8 facts in my presentation today. How many did you find?

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Ask Flash, Dewey, Feline Facts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Another Feline Fact From Dewey

  1. Hayley says:

    Great Job Dewey! And everybody Flash is almost out of qustions so give him some more! 😉

  2. Anna Starks says:

    How old are u Dewey?

  3. Dot says:

    I had to click a couple of times before finding a picture. It said something about no article with that exact words. It finally came up.

  4. Hayley says:

    Hey Dot I sure do really miss you. 😦

  5. Dot says:

    Come on, Fans of Flash. Tomorrow is the 15th. We need 240 hits before that day is over. I think we can do it.

  6. Dot says:

    Dewey, I think you have been hanging around my house lately. A cat showed up that looks just like the picture you are using except there is a tiny bit of white on it’s chest. It looks healthy and well taken care of, but every time it sees me or Phil, it meows a lot like it wants food.

  7. Kaitlynn says:

    did the dog that Cindy saw have bows in her hair like lucy?

Leave a Reply

