Does Anybody Know What “Sincere” Means?

THE GENERAL: Today Flash and Lucy have been given orders by Cindy to start getting along. They are supposed to say one nice thing about each other. We’ll start with Flash.

FLASH: Drat. Why can’t she go first?

THE GENERAL: Because I told you to.

FLASH: Fine. **sigh** It wasn’t easy to think of something nice to say about that butt-sniffer—

THE GENERAL: Her name is Lucy.

FLASH: Right. Well, here goes. Lucy doesn’t stink as much as a skunk.

THE GENERAL: Try again, Flash.

FLASH: What? Why? I said something nice.

THE GENERAL: I think Cindy meant something a little more positive and sincere.

FLASH: That’s not fair. It took me two days to think of that!

THE GENERAL: Okay, we’ll let Lucy take her turn while you think.

LUCY: I guess you could say that Flash is a natural at his stupid character part in the book.

FLASH: Hey! What’s that supposed to mean?

LUCY: Exactly what it sounds like, bozo.

THE GENERAL: Silence! Both of you have five minutes to come up with a sincere compliment about each other or I’ll have to call Cindy. I’m guessing she wouldn’t be happy to be interrupted again.

(Five minutes later)

THE GENERAL: Time’s up, Flash. Now tell us something nice about Lucy.

FLASH: Uh . . . I guess she was pretty smart to hide in the cellar and watch to see how I opened the secret passage.

THE GENERAL: Much better. Lucy?

LUCY: Well . . . Flash is persistent and doesn’t give up even when things are tough.

THE GENERAL: See? That wasn’t so hard, was it? If we think of this blog as another TEAM, I’m sure we can all learn to get along. I’ll ask Ringo to come up with some team-building exercises for us to do together.

****

Whew! I’m glad that’s over. Do you think Lucy really thinks I’m persistent? Huh. That was pretty nice of her to say, wasn’t it? And it’s true, because secret agents like me never give up! Well I guess now we can go back to our regularly scheduled . . .

The theme for this week’s Flash illustrations is my beautiful chocolate brown fur. (Which is another thing Lucy could have mentioned about me if she wanted. Don’t tell her I said so, but her little hairy face is kind of cute if you like that sort of thing.)

Flash (By Susan)

Flash (By S.L.W.)

Flash (By H.C.S.)

And here are our two inventions for the week:

The Dander Zapper (By Natalie)

Sir Vac-a-lot (By Anonymous)

I love, love, LOVE “See Flash!” day, don’t you? See you on Friday for “Ask Flash!”

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Flash Has Attitude, Lucy, See Flash and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Does Anybody Know What “Sincere” Means?

  1. Hayley says:

    WOW really great pictures! And veery nice coments about each other Lucy and Flash!

  2. Hayley says:

    Flash you both did evenly good

  3. Dot says:

    Flash and Lucy, I am proud of you both. Good job with the nice comments. Great pictures this week again. Those BES kids have talent.

  4. Kaitlynn says:

    what you said was very nice flash an lucy! good job! 🙂 😉

  5. kat says:

    i just finished making homemade pumpkin pie from scrach

  6. heath says:

    hi flash wotsup

Leave a Reply

