Flash Stows Away

Cindy went on vacation this past week with her family. Can you believe that she wasn’t planning to take me along? Good grief, what was she thinking?

Don’t worry, I stowed away.

I had to, right? Who else was going to help her think while she was floating in the hot springs and looking up at the beautiful mountains? We didn’t have any huge breakthoughs, but we did come up with a few more ideas for the new story. Unfortunately, as soon as she got home she also got sick. And she had to help her son get ready to leave for college yesterday. So that means she hasn’t worked on our ideas yet.

But she will. Soon. And hopefully once she does, all that relaxation and mulling of ideas will pay off. She’ll be back at the plot board with her sticky notes, getting that story figured out!

Don’t think I forgot about “Ask Flash!” day. But before we start, Kaitlynn has a question for The General. “What is your favorite part about being the boss?”

Thank you for your question, Kaitlynn. All cats like to get their way, so that’s one nice thing about being the boss. But I’m just glad I can protect Mortimer’s inventions. My human is an extraordinary friend to felines, so it’s the least I can do for him.

And now . . . back to . . .

Hayley wants to know, “Why do u like purple? I like it because it ‘s Justin Bieber’s favorite color so it is mine too.”

I like purple because it’s the color of royalty. Cats, especially a Feline Extraordinaire like myself, should be treated like a king. I’m glad you and Justin like purple, too. So, is he a kid in your class?

Kaitlynn asks, “Are you a cat that likes water or not?”

No, I do not like water, except to drink. Don’t you remember when I almost drowned after I fell in the river? Cats should never be immersed in water, especially not because you humans think we need a bath. That’s why we have tongues!

Dot sent in this question: “Flash, do you like Cindy’s real cats? If you do which one is your favorite?”

Cindy has three real cats that all came from the pound as kittens. They’re not nearly as cool as me, of course, but I like them fine. Molly and Misty are six years old. They are sisters but they don’t look alike at all. Molly is very small and skinny, Misty is big and fat. Wait, did I say “fat?” I meant “extra-medium.” Guess where Cindy got some of her ideas for Ringo and Dewey?

Her last cat is only two years old. They got him after my alter-ego, Snickers, died. Any guesses what his name is? Flash. What a stupid idea that was! He is not like me AT ALL. Instead of being a Secret Agent Extraordinaire, he’s a scaredy cat who hides under the bed every time the doorbell rings!

I think Molly is my favorite because she always gets into the most trouble, like me.

Oh yeah. In case you were wondering, the “deadline” to hear back from the editor was Wednesday. No, we haven’t heard anything yet. But I can’t say I’m too surprised. Experience has shown that time seems to work in some alternate dimension in the publishing world. As soon as I know anything, I’ll let you know. Stay tuned!!

P.S. By the time you read this, we should have broken 9,000 hits. Woo hoo!

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Ask Flash, Flash Has Attitude, The General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Flash Stows Away

  1. Dot says:

    It is 9,011. I hope you get good news from the publisher soon. Waiting is SO hard.

  2. Hayley says:

    No Flash Justin Bieber is a VERY famous boy loved by girls and some boys EVERYWERE!

  3. Hayley says:

    Yes maybe even more famous! Maybe yoour books will be loved like people love Harry Potter books , and u will maybe even have a movie!! Don’t worry I’ll support you the whole way and I am sure Dot will 1000% of the way too. 😉

  4. Kaitlynn says:

    great questions guys!!!! And flash my mom once had a cat that LOVED water!!!!!

Leave a Reply

