Operation ???

Yes, you heard right. I have a new top-secret mission in the works. It’s about my new Wednesday plan. But don’t tell anybody, okay? Well, I guess you can tell one person. Your best BFF—as long as they are completely trustworthy and won’t spill the beans. And they can tell one person, too. But just one! Because this is classified information, you know.

Drat.

I don’t really have a new Wednesday plan.

Yet.

So I guess it’s not really top-secret after all. But I did think of an idea. Okay, okay—that’s not exactly true either. Dewey thought of the idea. I’ll give you a hint. He’s a library cat, right? And what are libraries full of?

Books!

And what is everyone on this blog?

Book characters!

Who better to talk about all the great books out there waiting to be read by our loyal fans, huh?

But so far it’s just a teeny-tiny start of an idea. It’s a good thing I’m Flash, Feline Extraordinaire, and can figure out complicated stuff like this.

So, um . . . just in case I get stuck, does anyone out there have ingenious thoughts about how I should run my new Operation? While you’re thinking, let’s have . . .

Dot has two questions this week. The first one is for Dewey: “Why do cats purr if it is just for humans who do not understand them anyway?”

Dewey: I’m afraid I can’t answer that question. All I can say is that it’s complicated. Scientists think they’ve discovered how and why we cats purr. They’re getting close, but I’d hate to ruin all the fun of their research. I can tell you we meow at humans because it’s the only way to get your attention since you can’t understand us telepathically.

Dot’s next question is for me: “Where do you usually sleep when you are not on duty as a secret agent?”

That’s an easy one. On Eric’s bed, where else?

And now Anonymous wants to know, “Are you going to use Sir Vac-a-lot in your next book?”

I hope not! I don’t like vacuum cleaners one bit! They hurt my ears and I’m always afraid they’re going to suck up my tail. Unfortunately, Cindy thinks Sir Vac-a-lot is really funny. So I’m guessing she’ll use him again whether I like it or not.

That’s it for this week. Did you think of any ideas for me? Send them in a comment. Or if you have a question send it, too. Don’t forget, it can be a question for anybody. Or even about the new story. I’m waiting . . .

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in A Mission, Ask Flash, Dewey, Flash Has Attitude and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Operation ???

  1. Dot says:

    Flash, tell Dewey that is a wonderful idea. I loved working in a library full of books, and I love reading them, and talking about them. I bet blogging about them would be fun too. There are SO many great ones.

  2. Hayley says:

    Ya interveiw Dot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Also GREAT qustions.

  3. Hayley says:

    UMMMMMM……………let me think of a really good qustion for you give me a little time. OK?

  4. Jack says:

    I don’t understand Operation ???. Are we going to talk about your favorite books or our favorite books? Or are we talking about Cindy’s books or book ideas? I confused.

    • That’s what I’m trying to figure out. Cindy and Dewey like lots of books that we could talk about. But I would also love to hear about my fans favorite books. Any ideas how I could do that?

      • Jack says:

        Hmmmm. Well, we could switch off on books we like. Dewey or Cindy talks about a book they like, and we could respond and say a book we like. Just an idea.

        • That’s kind of what I was thinking, too. But I don’t know if any fans will respond. Also, it wouldn’t be very interesting if they just said, “I like The Cat in the Hat because it’s really cool.” You know? My main question is how I would “interview” a fan. Let’s say you were going to give your book recommendation. Could I get enough information going back and forth with comments and then put it all together in a post? What do you think? I guess we might have to experiment and see what works.

          • Dot says:

            Fans could send you things like we do with the extra questions starting with ‘Operation ???’. But if they did not say enough how could you get more information to put on a post?

            It sounds really fun and we all might find special books we would like to read from what other fans or Cindy or Dewey wrote about.

  5. Dot says:

    Sure. Would it just be questions and answers in the comments on the blog?

Leave a Reply

