The Grand Escape

Today I’m going to recommend a book by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor. She’s written lots of good books, but my favorite one is called The Grand Escape. Any guesses why it’s my favorite? You got it—it’s a story about cats!

Lucy: Cats. Schmats. Who wants to read another story about cats?

I do. And it’s my blog, so I can do whatever I want.

Lucy: Well, I want to read a story about DOGS.

So who’s stopping you? Or can you even read?

Lucy: HA! I bet I can read better than you! And to prove it, I’m going to do the book recommendation next week. And it’s going to be about DOGS!

Fine. Now go chase a ball or something and let me finish telling everyone about The Grand Escape.

Drat! That Lucy is such a pain! Now where was I? Oh, yeah. This is a story about two cats, Marco and Polo. Marco is the smart one. I like him a lot because he reminds me of myself!

Lucy: Are you sure you’re not the dumb one?

Scram, Lucy! You’re interrupting Operation Story Share! If you keep bothering me I won’t let you have a turn next week with your stupid dog book.

Lucy: Dog books aren’t stupid. I bet lots of kids like dog books!

Okay, fine. We’ll have a vote. All right, fans, let’s shut Lucy up. Send me a comment and tell me which you like better, dog books or cat books?

Before I was so rudely interrupted again, I was trying to tell you that Marco and Polo are housecats who escape into the big wide world where they have to solve three mysteries in order to be allowed to join a cool cat club led by a mean yellow cat named Texas Jake. Ooooohh! Told you it was good, didn’t I?

Now it’s time for the SHARE in Operation Story Share! Has anybody out there read The Grand Escape? Would you recommend it to your friends or did you NOT like it? I want to hear from you, either way! So use that finger to scroll down to the bottom of this post and click on “Comment.” Then tell me what you think (and be sure to vote for cat books while you’re at it).

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation, Flash Has Attitude, Lucy, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Grand Escape

  1. Anna Starks says:

    Hey! Haven’t talked for a wile. Now I will be on a lot! 🙂

  2. Hayley says:

    Ok I am going to the loveland library today. I’ll have to check it out!!!!!!! 😉

  3. Hayley says:

    CAT BOOK! But my little sister is more a dog person so SHE votes dog. Sorry about the last part Flash

  4. Jack says:

    I’m pretty much even, but my brother loves cat books. Especially the anatomy ones.

  5. Anna Starks says:

    Flash! Guess what? I asked my mom what she would vote for, cat books or dog books, and she voted for, (drum roll!) Cat Books!!!!!! U are rockin’ awesome buddie!

  6. Dot says:

    Well, Flash, since your book is my favorite I guess I am voting for a cat book. But what about elephants. We can’t leave out Horton.

  7. kat says:

    cat’s are totaly the best lucy i’m to deprest to thing about do$s

Leave a Reply

