My Dog, Cat

Last week, I promised Lucy she could review a dog book on my blog. I know, I know, I must have been crazy. It would have been bad enough to take my picture with one dog book, but she insisted on featuring three! Drat. This is so embarrassing! At least cat books beat dog books seven to three in our official vote. But don’t remind Lucy about that, it’s a sore subject with her! **snicker** Sorry. I know I’m not supposed to gloat, but . . . Anyway, here she is.

Hi everyone, it’s little old me—Lucy! Since I don’t have a library card, Cindy was nice enough to check out a whole stack of dog books for me. I read three of them last week. There was one called Flawed Dogs by Berkeley Breathed, and another one called The Trouble with Chickens by Doreen Cronin. They were both really, really good. But the one I want to talk about today was called My Dog, Cat by Marty Crisp.

I almost didn’t read it since it’s about a dog named after a Roman poet, Catullus the Great. And yes, they do call the poor thing Cat for short. But then I noticed Cat was a Yorkshire terrier. (Just like me!)

The story is about a boy who wants a dog. A really big mean dog he could name Killer that would help him fight off the bully who is hounding him. But he gets Cat instead.

Not only is Cat completely adorable, (Just like me!) he’s also very brave, fiercely protective, and super smart. (Just like me!)

Flash: Oh, brother.

Shut up, Flash! You got to do your silly little cat book last week. It’s my turn. Anyway, you’ll have to read it to find out what happens, but let’s just say that bully doesn’t stand a chance against Cat. Dog books ROCK! (Just like me!)

Flash: Whatever. Okay, fans, if you’ve got nothing else to do, you might want to check out one of Lucy’s dog books and let us know what you think. Or better yet, read something dog-free and recommend it to Operation Story Share!

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation, Flash Has Attitude, Lucy, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Dog, Cat

  1. Hayley says:

    Hey Lucy! That sounds like a great book! Thamks for telling abut it!

  2. Hayley says:

    Don’t feel bad Flash your books are GOOD too!

  3. Hayley says:

    Hey Dot are you going to the Berthoud Elemntry on October 21, 2011! I hope so then we can talk!!!!! 🙂

  4. Dot says:

    I am planning to be there, and will look for you. That is always a fun time.

  5. Hayley says:

    Thanks! I’ll look for you too! The carnival is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO fun!!!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

