The Case of the Haystack Kitties

This week I happened to pick up one of the books that Lucy left lying around. It was called The Case of the Haystack Kitties by John R. Erickson. On the cover was a picture of a dog with cats climbing all over him. I thought, “Cool. Here’s a nice story about cats totally dominating a dog!”

I started reading, only to find out the whole book is about a character named Hank the Cowdog.

Drat! A dog book—ugh! I started to put it down, but my eyes had already read the second paragraph.

Little did I know or suspect that before the day was done, I would be trapped in a runaway pickup or that I would discover a nest of trespassing stray cats in the haystack. Or that I would do battle with a raging bull.

And that sounded kind of interesting. So I kept reading and found out Hank was Head of the Security Division on a ranch. Huh. That’s kind of like me being a secret agent on The General’s TEAM. Well, I scooted that book under the couch so I could read it without Lucy catching me.

I almost put it down in the middle because Hank hates cats. Can you believe he was being mean to a mama cat and her six kittens who were living in the haystack? What a jerk! But he quickly learned the error of his ways and actually helped them by the end of the story.

As much as I hate to admit it, I liked this book a lot!

Of course I never make mistakes like Hank did. Well . . . except for that time I accidentally left Mortimer’s secret passage open and Eric found it. Or the time I—never mind, let’s get back to Hank’s story.

I looked up this series on the internet and learned there’s fifty-seven Hank the Cowdog books! Fifty-seven! If you don’t believe me, click here to check out Mr. Erickson’s website. It’s got all kinds of stuff, even games.

So I could read more books about Hank! But I won’t. And even though I liked the story, I can’t recommend this book to my fans. Why not? Because Hank is a dog, that’s why!

Dewey: Pardon my interruption, Flash. But I think you’re being a little silly to not read something you enjoy just because the main character is a dog. Being a library cat, I have read many, many books. Great books about humans, monsters, aliens, cats, dogs, hamsters, bunnies, rats, mice, even cockroaches! A good story is a good story, no matter who the characters are.

But if I recommend Hank the Cowdog books, Lucy’s gonna make fun of me!

Dewey: You tell Lucy that a wise cat knows it’s okay to expand his horizons.

Yeah! That’s me—wise. And handsome and super sneaky. So fans, if you want to read a good book, check out The Case of the Haystack Kitties or any of the other fifty-six Hank the Cowdog books by John R. Erickson. It’s important to expand our horizons, you know.

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation, Dewey, Flash Has Attitude, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Case of the Haystack Kitties

  1. Hayley says:

    Flash that sounds like A VERY good book!!!

  2. Dot says:

    Flash, I saw Hayley and lots of BES kids today at the carnival. It was great to see so many special people. One of them gave me a poster of 5 cats. We decided they were like your TEAM.

    I need to read a “Hank, the Cow Dog” book. I have not read any from that series yet.

  3. Dot says:

    Flash, I also won a zucchini cake with cream cheese frosting at the cake walk.

  4. Hayley says:

    I had meatloaf the other day

  5. Hayley says:

    YA that’s the best

Leave a Reply

