Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key

Let’s all give a warm welcome to 12-year-old Hayley, who is our very first fan to do a book recommendation on Operation Story Share! **wild applause** I’m sure that my zillions of fans can’t wait to hear what book you are recommending today.

I would recommend Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key by Jack Gantos because it’s a kid friendly book and happy, surprising, funny, and maybe even things you’re going through or went through.

When you told me about this book, it sounded so good I had to read it. I really liked how the author described how Joey felt when his ADHD medicine wasn’t working. You know how sometimes cats start running around the house for no apparent reason? That’s just how we feel then, too! So, what was your favorite part?

My favorite part is probably the end when Henry’s mom is really sweet and kind to Joey and says “Joey you are turning into a good kid, you always were a good kid.” The end and last chapter or two were REALLY good!

Oh, yeah! I liked the end, too! There were some parts of the story that were sad, but it was mostly funny. And it ended happy. Although if you ask me, he should have asked for a cat instead of a dog!

Okay, I have another question for you. Can you tell us why you like to read?

I like to read because it’s one of my favorite things and calms me down if I’m upset, mad or even stressed!

And what’s your favorite book ever? (Besides mine, of course!)

My all time favorite books are Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key and Joey Pigza Loses Control. But if I had to pick one of them it would be Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key.

Hayley also said to tell you that there are four Joey books in all: Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key, Joey Pigza Loses Control, What Would Joey Do?, and I am Not Joey Pigza. So if you’re a Joey fan, you’re in luck!

Unfortunately we are out of time. Thank you, Hayley, for visiting with me today! I bet lots of kids are going to want to read the Joey books after reading your recommendation. Listen up, fans—if you’ve already read one of the Joey books, please send us a comment and let us know what you thought about it!

P.S. If you’d like to be an Operation Story Share participant send me a comment and we’ll talk. Make it snappy, all my slots are sure to fill up fast!

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation, Flash Has Attitude, Kid Recommendation, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key

  1. Dot says:

    Thanks, Hayley. I will find a Joey Pigza book to read. What a great job on the very first fan recommendation!!!! Library, here I come.

  2. It is great to get book recommendations from kids who have read the books! Good job!

  3. Hayley says:

    It was VEY fun. I would do it 100 more times if I could. Now I am reading another REALLY good book but it’s kind of scary. 🙂 Thanks SO much for letting me do this! 😉 I love Flash! ❤

  4. Hayley says:

    Stolen Children. It’s really good but creppy. I got it yesterday and I am almost done with it. Thanks again. Oh and my mom put a link to this on facebook too.

  5. Emily says:

    Hi Flash!!! How r you doing? Hayley did a great job!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😉

  6. Kaitlynn says:

    Wow good job Haley!!! That book sounds really good! I will have to read it!

  7. Hayley says:

    Hi flash! Sorry I havn’t been on in a few days my computer has been being weird. And Thank you Kaitlynn!

  8. kat says:

    i like the mysterous bededect society it’s about 4 super talented in thinking orphans and have a team where they follow clues, figure out mysrories, and stop bad people

  9. Kaitlynn says:

    Your welcome Haley!

Leave a Reply

