Ringo’s Secret

Hey, man, this is Ringo. I’m kind of having a droopy-whisker day because Flash said it was my turn to recommend a book on his Operation Story Share this week. Flash thinks his new mission is the most awesomest thing ever, and Dewey’s been like totally psyched since it started, because he’s a super-smart library cat and all. The other characters, even Lucy, are reading books to recommend to you guys. But not me. That’s because I have a secret.

Well, it’s not like totally a secret, but it’s something that I try not to talk about much. See, I’m real good at cheering up my friends and guarding the dumpster and bringing The General his food and stuff like that. But, dude, I pretty much stink at reading.

So I was hunkered down in the corner with my droopy whiskers, wondering if I could somehow talk Flash into giving my turn to someone else without giving away my secret, when Cindy saw me and guessed what was wrong.

Cindy: Don’t feel bad, Ringo. Not everyone is good at reading. But like everything else, you can get better if you practice.

No way! It’s too hard! There’s like a jillion words in every book!

Cindy: I bet I could find you a book at the library without a jillion words that you would like.

Sure. A baby book. I can’t recommend a baby book on Operation Story Share. Flash’s fans are big kids.

Cindy: Trust me. I can think of at least three books off the top of my head that have great stories that big kids love—without a jillion words. Leave it to me. Before you know it, you’ll be reading as much as anyone else on this blog.

Really?

Cindy: Really.

Far out! Thanks, I owe you one, big time!

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation, Operation Story Share, Ringo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Ringo’s Secret

  1. Dot says:

    Oh, Ringo. If you want to learn to read better, there are lots of ways to get help. I remember when Cindy was first learning to read. I also remember watching and listening to her brother, sister, and our grand kids. Nobody can read well without practice, and I know Cindy will find books that you will like. Some of your fans may have suggestions too. I saw 2 BES kids in the grocery store yesterday. One of them is in 1st grade and is just learning to read. She was excited.

  2. Hayley says:

    I had a hard time learning to read when I was younger too! Don’t worry you’ll be better in no time! Once you start you can’t stop!

  3. Dot says:

    Tell Cindy to read PAPA’S STORIES by Dolores Johnson to you. It is as short book, but very good and might make you feel better.

  4. Kaitlynn says:

    Don`t worry Ringo. You will get the hang of it! You can do it!! 🙂

  5. Kaitlynn says:

    Thanks! You are one far out cat!! 🙂 😉

  6. heath says:

    hi kadin

  7. kadin says:

    hi heath what are you doing

  8. Kaitlynn says:

    Okay!!

  9. Kaitlynn says:

    I liked it A LOT!!! Good job! 😉

  10. Kaitlynn says:

    Ur welcome!! 🙂 😉 😀

  11. Dot says:

    What’s a good idea?

Leave a Reply

