Leon and the Spitting Image

I’ve been letting everyone else have a turn on Operation Story Share, so it’s been a long time since I’ve recommended a book myself. And guess what? I have a new favorite to share with you!

Lucy: If it’s that good, I bet it’s a story about a dog, huh?

No. It’s about a hotel full of animals, an evil ice maker, glass eyeballs, really old panty hose and possibly fake hair.

Lucy: Are you kidding me? What kind of weird book is this?

It’s called Leon and the Spitting Image by Allen Kurzweil. It’s a really funny story about Leon Zeisel and his epic quest to outwit the school bully and learn to sew for his super-strict teacher, Miss Hagmeyer.

Lucy: Huh. That does sound a little bit interesting.

I could hardly put it down. Not only are there bullies and mean teachers in the story, there are mysteries and magic and SPIT.

Lucy: You mean like doggie slobber?

I mean totally disgusting chewing tobacco spit.

Lucy: Eeeeewww! Gross! Hey, can I see that book?

Really? You want to read a book that I recommended?

Lucy: Well maybe just this once. An evil ice maker, possibly fake hair and disgusting spit sound too good to pass up.

Okay, you can borrow it. But I call dibs on Allen Kurzweil’s next book, Leon and the Champion Chip.

Lucy: Deal. Now give me that book and be quiet so I can read!

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation, Flash Has Attitude, Lucy, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Leon and the Spitting Image

  1. Dot says:

    I hope Lucy likes it. I’ll have to make another trip to the library.

  2. Hayley says:

    WOW! It must be good if Lucy can’t get her little dog nose out of it! 🙂

  3. Kaitlynn says:

    That sounds like a good book Flash!! Have yo read Where the Red Fern Grows?? We are reading it in school and it is really good so far! Your book is better though. 🙂 😉 😀

  4. cutie says:

    Wow. Maybe some day cats all over the world will have their nose stuck in your book! That would be awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

