Extra! Extra!

Read All About Flash’s First Christmas!

It’s not easy for a curious cat like me to wait for Christmas morning. I had to find a way to distract myself before I went crazy watching the minutes tick by one by one while my empty stocking hung from the mantel.

First I tried building a snowman.

Okay, okay, I didn’t exactly do it myself. But I bet I could build one if I set my mind to it. Well, maybe. Cats hate having cold, wet paws.

Then I tried baking some cookies.

Okay, I really didn’t do that either. But I did watch. Only there was still a lot of time till Christmas morning. I needed something else to distract myself. That’s when I saw Cindy’s family and the visiting relatives preparing to go out for the day. And I got an idea. An ingenious idea! In case you were wondering, I called it Operation Stow Away.

Thanks to my superior feline secret agent sneakiness, I successfully squeezed into the car just as they were ready to leave.

As you can see, there wasn’t much room in the back seat, but imaginary cats can fit in some pretty small places.

Our first stop was the historic Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, CO. While no one was looking, I drove the restored Stanley Steamer on display in the lobby. Pretty cool, huh?

Then we headed up to Rocky Mountain National Park where we saw two coyotes hunting in the snowy meadow. Can you believe they were too snooty to stop long enough to take a picture with me? Oh, well. Their loss, right? Those coyotes will probably never have another chance to pose with a famous, blog-writing Feline Extraordinaire.

A little while later we stopped at an overlook and I climbed all the way up this hill. Can you see me?

Here’s a hint: I had to use my claws to climb up the dead tree trunk. Then everyone headed for the car and I had to hightail it down. Whew—I thought I was going to be left behind! I was awfully tired by the time we got home. I was planning to stay up and watch for Santa, but I must have dozed off because I MISSED HIM!

But he came! And he filled up my stocking, just like I’d hoped!

With all kinds of loot! Plenty of toys to share with my fellow characters, books to recommend on my blog . . .

. . . And even some doggie treats for Lucy.

Since my story is fiction, I guess Santa didn’t count her villainous actions against her, so she wasn’t on the naughty list after all.

Anyway, I hope you liked the report on my first Christmas. I also hope the celebrations with your family were just as special. Only 363 days until next Christmas!

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Flash Has Attitude and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Extra! Extra!

  1. Hayley says:

    WOW Flash that sounds SO fun! I wish I did that to wait that long for Christmas! Was it the best Christmas ever? I had a good Christmas too! 🙂

  2. Dot says:

    Sounds like you had fun. And I got to be on some of your adventures. Hayley, I hope you will do another recommendation.

  3. Hayley says:

    YES 100000000000 times YES. I already have a book

  4. Jack says:

    Happy New Year Flash!!!

Leave a Reply

