Freak the Mighty

Guess what? I have a special treat for you today on Operation Story Share. You can’t guess? Fine, I’ll just tell you. Twelve-year-old Hayley has volunteered to do another recommendation for us. **wild applause**

Okay, okay, settle down. I LOVE that Hayley is doing another book because I want Operation Story Share to be about stories that YOU,  my fans, like. So if you want to share in Hayley’s glory, just send me a comment saying you want to be an official “Recommender” and I will get back to you right away.

And now, let’s get started. What book are we going to talk about today, Hayley?

I am recommending Freak the Mighty by Rodman Philbrick.

I agree, this is a great book. It’s about two boys who have a special friendship the summer before eighth grade. Max is a slow learner who is much bigger than his classmates. Kevin is a brilliant kid, but his growth has been stunted by a birth defect. I liked how they combined forces to make a powerful team—Freak the Mighty!

As you know, I’m pretty much an expert on teams, since I’m part of one myself. In our case, TEAM stands for Totally Excellent Ani-Mals, which is a pretty cool name. But I don’t know, Freak the Mighty might be cooler. Just don’t tell Ringo, okay? So what did you like about the book?

I liked the way Freak and Mighty act different around each other than they do with their families. They are more open and don’t keep things inside as much when they are hanging out together. Like before Mighty met Freak, he hung out in the basement by himself doing nothing except being in his own world. Freak built stuff, but he couldn’t get around very well. When they are together though, they are high above the world and can do anything.

Another thing I liked was the dictionary. Freak uses BIG words and Max uses small words, so Freak always had to explain or have Max look up the word. On Christmas, Freak gave Max a dictionary with what the words mean to him even if it’s not the right meaning. What’s really cool is how the book had a copy of Freak’s dictionary in the back, so I got to see what Max’s Christmas present really looked like

One more thing I liked was how it was sad but funny at the same time. I think other kids would like it because of the same reasons I did.

You’re right. It was sad and funny, and a little SCARY, too.  Like the part in the middle about Max’s dad who was in prison for murdering Max’s mom. That made my hackles rise and my ears lay back, so we’d better talk about something else before I get scared again. What was your favorite part?

My favorite part is when Freak comes to the rescue. I don’t want to give anything away so I won’t tell anything else about it. 🙂

I liked that part, too. It was really funny how Freak saved the day. But I agree, some things have to remain top-secret! Is there anything else you want to tell us?

Yes, I have two more things to say. First, there is second book called Max the Mighty. And last thing—there’s a movie! It’s not called Freak the Mighty, though. It’s just called The Mighty.

Well, thanks for having me again. I know that more fans will want to do Operation Story Share. BYE! 🙂

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation, Flash Has Attitude, Kid Recommendation, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Freak the Mighty

  1. Hayley says:

    You guys should really do this. It’s one of the best things I’ve EVER done. 🙂 😉

  2. Dot says:

    Hayley, that sounds like a book I would like. I need to read something funny now after 2 sad ones in a row. This sounds like it would be both.

  3. Leona says:

    Great job,Hayley! It sounds like a good book! Thanks for your recommendation!

  4. citue says:

    I am so sorry, Flash! I am gonna comment more like the old days w/ me commenting! 🙂 I am gonna get a puppy soon! In Feb. or June

    • Oooh, I’d like that! I’d like it if you wanted to do a book recommendation like Hayley, too! I don’t like that you’re getting a puppy. Really? Are you sure you wouldn’t rather have a CAT?

  5. Hannah says:

    Sounds like a really good book! I am going to read it soon! Good job, Hayley! love, Hannah

  6. Ashley says:

    Good job Hayley(: I’m glad you found something that you enjoy doing. ❤ Big sister

Leave a Reply

