The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Boy

My whiskers are tingling with excitement! That’s because 13 year-old Jack is here to recommend our book for Operation Story Share. Before we get started, let’s give him a great big welcome! **wild applause**

Thanks for joining us, Jack. What book would you like to tell us about today?

I’m recommending the book The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Boy: The Hero Revealed by William Boniface. It’s about a city of superheroes with only one ordinary kid in the whole city. He has to go on an adventure with his friends to explore a mystery happening in the city.

And it’s quite a mystery! This is how the inside cover explained it.

A mystery is afoot in Superopolis. Why is it so hard to get a complete set of collectible trading cards? Where is the last card hiding? Who is the real mastermind behind this sinister plot, and what is he planning?

Forget the regular superheroes. In a city where everyone is extraordinary, this might just be a job for . . . FLASH, FELINE EXTRAORDINAIRE!

Drat! Did I say that out loud? I was supposed to say “Ordinary Boy,” but my own name sort of slipped out. I guess secret agents are a little like superheroes. We’re both awfully good at saving the world and stopping villainous plots. So, tell us what you liked about The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Boy.

I liked the mystery that the author put into the story and I liked the concept of an all superhero town and seeing what all the different and creative superpowers were. I also liked the illustrations that are in the book. While infrequent, they show more information about a place or person in the city.

Yeah, I know what you mean. Some of the illustrations were drawn to look like trading cards with the character’s stats at the bottom. Pretty cool! I snooped around the internet a little and found these printable copies of some of the trading cards from the book, courtesy of HarperCollins. Click here to print your very own set. (If the page looks black when you open it, click at the top on the little plus sign to make it bigger and the cards will show up. Don’t ask me, I’m not a computer expert!)

I really like these print-out trading cards and had never heard about them before until now. I think it’s a cool way to let people see some of the characters and the type of illustration that is in the handbook pages.

I’m actually a little jealous about that whole card thing. Don’t you think the characters in my book deserve some trading cards, too?

Yes, I think it would be really cool if you and the TEAM had their own trading cards. There could be a card for each character and maybe even a card for some of Mortimer’s inventions.

Ooooh! I like the way you think! And also like you, I was impressed with all the different superpowers in the book. Some of them were supercool and some were supersilly. What I really liked was how nobody had an actual name, they were named after their power. Since the main character didn’t have a superpower, he was called Ordinary Boy! What was your favorite part?

My favorite part of the book is when Ordinary Boy met and defeated The Multiplier. Even though he is a bad guy, I still think he has a cool power when it is amplified. I also like the Oomplifier in the book. I think it sounds like an invention Mortimer might make.

Ha! I thought the same thing—what an awesome invention! Is there anything else you want to tell all my fans?

This book is part one in the series. So if you like it, try the rest of them. There are three in all.

No way! I can’t wait to read the others—I’ll race you to them! Remember, the first book is called The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Boy: The Hero Revealed by William Boniface. Ready, set, GO!

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation, Flash Has Attitude, Interview, Kid Recommendation, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to The Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Boy

  1. Dot says:

    Thanks for the recommendation, Jack. That book sounds very good.

  2. Hayley says:

    I will have to get that next time I go to th library. My little sister wants to do a recommendation.

  3. Rose says:

    Hi Flash! Can you have a cat nemed Rose? Also can I talk to Rango.

  4. Rose says:

    Sorry I found were Rango was, so nevermind.

  5. Rose says:

    I forgot to ask you something. What really happed to your humans? And What happed to Lucie and the General?

    • Are you asking me (Flash) or Ringo? The TEAM ran Lucy off, but we won’t know what happens to her unless there’s another book. The General is going to retire and let ME be the boss! But he’ll stay around to help me if I need it.

  6. Rose says:

    Also how would it feel if there was a number 2

  7. Rose says:

    I mean book number 2 and im asking you flash. Well i will be going now. Talk to you in the morning.

  8. Rose says:

    Hi Flash how are you doing

  9. Rose says:

    Are you awake and where did your oners move to because i miss a day of school i was sick ani dont remember much

  10. Rose says:

    sorry flash i thought that cats just took cat naps. My mom cut my hair this morning, now its to my chin!Im fine i like to get up early on saturdays because i like to wacht cartoons.

  11. Rose says:

    Flash could you ask cindy this for me:WEhy did you choose cats?
    Thanks,
    Rose

  12. Rose says:

    Sorry I have not been on here so long. I would like a book reccomenddation.

  13. Rose says:

    Ok thanks. But is thier a book that has a chariter named Rose.

    • How about Lucy Rose? There is a series of books by Katy Kelly, the first one is called Lucy Rose: Here’s the Thing About Me. They are really good, I think you might like them. If your school doesn’t have it, the Loveland Library does. I just looked, and they are checked out right now. You could put it on hold though! P.S. Did you get my e-mail to your mom’s e-mail address?

Leave a Reply

