Captivating Canines

This is Lucy. Before we get started today, I have an important announcement about Friday’s Operation Story Share. Unlike Flash, who always has to make a big secret out of everything, I’ll just tell you that we’re having another “Guest Recommender.” Her name is Rachel and I’m sure her recommendation will be nearly as captivating as what I’m about to tell you.

In case you were wondering, Flash is letting me write today because I told him I wanted to discuss how villains should learn to be nicer.

Yeah, right! Hee hee hee! Shhh, don’t tell him I’m really writing a rebuttal to Dewey’s Feline Facts post. What a snore-fest, right? Really, who cares about whether your cat is right-pawed or left-pawed?

But facts about Yorkshire Terriers like me, now that’s fascinating! Did you know that we’re called Yorkies for short? Unlike Dewey, who weighs nearly 16 hefty pounds, Yorkies only weigh between 4 and 8 pounds. Don’t be fooled be our size. We may be small, but we’re fierce! That’s because we were originally bred to kill rats in the clothing mills of Yorkshire, England.

And not that I’m bragging or anything, but as of 2006, we were the third most popular canine breed in the United States. In fact, a Yorkie named Pasha even lived in the White House as President Nixon’s daughter’s pet!

What scroungy old fur-licker can say that, huh?

Flash: Ha! I knew it! I knew you were lying about what you were going to post. That’s quite enough of your silly Yorkie facts. Nobody wants to read that garbage. Now scat!

(Looking around) Is she gone? Pssst. Hey, Dewey, have any cats ever lived in the White House?

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Flash Has Attitude, Lucy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Captivating Canines

  1. Dot says:

    Flash, maybe you should ask Dewey what happened to President Nixon. I wonder if Pasha gave him the idea for what he did that made it happen.

  2. Dot says:

    Flash, have you looked at your numbers.

  3. Dot says:

    I got “The Giggler Treatment” by Roddy Doyle from the library today. I think you would like it , Lucy. It has a dog who is very important to the story.

    I also got “My Teacher is an Alien” by Bruce Coville, because I thought it was the name of the book recommended by Emily. I also thought her book was by Debby Dady. The second part was right, and I will try to get “Aliens Don’t Wear Braces” next time. But the one by Bruce Coville was pretty good. I read it this afternoon and enjoyed it a lot.

    I tried to get “Extraordinary Adventures of Ordinary Boy”, but it was checked out. I will put it on hold soon.

    I really love Operation Story Share. Thanks for making this happen for us, Flash.

  4. Dot says:

    Flash, I just looked at the numbers and they are 14,999. WOW!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

