Seekers: The Quest Begins

Who knew an imaginary cat could get so many kids to share their favorite books with each other? But I guess if anyone could do it, it would be me. After all, I am Flash, Feline Extraordinaire!

As Lucy told you on Monday, we have another “Guest Recommender” for Operation Story Share. I’m so excited my whiskers are positively buzzing! Let’s give a warm welcome to eleven-year-old Rachel! **wild applause**

Hi, Rachel. My fans can’t wait to hear what book you are recommending today.

The Seekers series by Erin Hunter. The first book is called The Quest Begins.

Oh, yeah! I’ve heard of this author. She wrote another series called Warriors that is about cats. So is the Seekers series about cats, too?

No, it’s about three bear cubs that go on a journey. One is a black bear, one is a grizzly bear and the last one is a polar bear. All three of them have lost their mothers for different reasons. They run in to some problems and each other! I like it because you get to see the bear’s point of view!

BEARS? The only thing I know about bears is that they are WAY bigger than me! So I decided I’d better read this book to find out about them. And guess what? They’re not all that different from cats. I have to admit, they were pretty brave to face the wilderness all by themselves. And they were also pretty resourceful to find their own food since their hunting lessons had been cut short.

You know, I could totally sympathize with that part. I spent a few harrowing days in the woods after I ran away. Boy, was I hungry! Then I sniffed out Ringo’s dumpster, joined the TEAM, and got all the meatloaf I could eat. Whew!

My favorite part was when Lusa figured out how to escape from the zoo. That girl was SNEAKY! Well, not sneaky enough to be a secret agent like me, but I was still impressed! What was your favorite part, Rachel?

My favorite part is at the end when Lusa and Toklo meet each other!

Yeah, that was a good part, too. But my ears laid back and my tail bristled when the story ended on that cliffhanger. To find out what’s going to happen next I’m going to have to rush out and get the next book! There are six in all. If you want to learn more about the characters or the author, click here to go to the HarperCollins website.

If you figure out the interesting secret about Erin Hunter and are the first to tell me about it in the comments I’ll announce that you are the winner on the next post!

Thanks again to Rachel for her fine recommendation today. Don’t forget—The Quest Begins, by Erin Hunter!

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation 2012, Flash Has Attitude, Kid Recommendation, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Seekers: The Quest Begins

  1. Hayley says:

    Sounds like a Great book!!!!

  2. Dot says:

    Gotta find it.

  3. Hayley says:

    Flash I think you should look at how many people have visited the site!!!!!!

  4. Dot says:

    Rachel, I found it at the library this morning. I tried again to find Emily’s book by Debbie Dady, but they think it might be lost. It was not where it was supposed to be, so I got another one by her. Flash, I might need to borrow the second Seeker book from your source if the first is as good as I think it is going to be.

  5. Rachel says:

    Thanks! I love that book and I can’t wait for more people to read it!!!!

Leave a Reply

