An Illustrious History of Cats in the White House

Last week, Lucy tried to tell us that dogs were much more interesting than cats. Yorkshire Terriers in particular, because one of them lived in the White House when Richard Nixon was the President.

If you didn’t get a chance to read her post, consider yourself lucky you didn’t have to waste any precious brain cells on her “Yorkie” trivia.

However, I didn’t believe her claim that “scroungy old fur-lickers” probably never lived in the White House, so I had Dewey check it out.

Dewey: I’m glad to report that many cats have made their homes in the White House, beginning with Tabby, a cat who owned  Abraham Lincoln.

In 1878, another feline of note lived in the White House with Rutherford Hayes. Siam was a gift from the American Consul in Bangkok, Thailand, the very first Siamese cat to reach the United States.

Two other Siamese resided in the White House as well. One with Gerald Ford and one with Jimmy Carter. Obviously The General was quite impressed by this information.

Calvin Coolidge was quite a feline fan. He shared the White House with four cats. He is shown here with Tiger, who was often carried around the President’s neck or seen tagging along beside him.

So, is that all the cats who have lived in the White House?

Dewey: No, there have been other U.S. Presidents owned by cats, as well. I’ve just listed several for your fans today.

Thank you for sharing, Dewey. I’m not surprised that cats are living behind the scenes in the lives of these powerful men. Someone’s got to help them run the world!

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Dewey, Feline Facts, Flash Has Attitude and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to An Illustrious History of Cats in the White House

  1. Hayley says:

    WOW!!! Those are some great facts that I NEVER knew

  2. MjWebWriter says:

    Dewey is quite an impressive sleuth. I did not know the first Siamese cat to come to the United States lived in the White House. And I had no idea Abraham Lincoln was also a cat lover. Thanks for this great info!

  3. Dot says:

    I did not know Abraham Lincoln had a cat in the White House. I have read a lot of books about his boys. They has lots of fun, and I bet they enjoyed Tabby. He is the president who started the tradition of pardoning a turkey at Thanksgiving, because his son said the turkey was his friend.

  4. Dot says:

    Flash, do you know how many books have been recommended on Operation Story Share. I hope other people have enjoyed them as much as I have. I just returned “Seekers: the Quest Begins” to the library this morning. I had to ask where it was. It was filed in the paperback ‘S’ instead of by the author. I want to read some more of them.

Leave a Reply

