Smells Like Dog

Hi there, everybody! It’s me, Lucy. I just read a grrr-eat book called Smells Like Dog by Suzanne Selfors. When I told Flash he should recommend it for Operation Story Share, he said “Who wants to read a book about smelly dogs?”

Hmph. Stupid fur-licker! If only he’d listen, he’d know that Smells Like Dog isn’t a book about a dog who stinks, but about a dog who can smell things—like treasure!

Flash: Treasure? I’m sure you never mentioned treasure!

Yes, I did. Now go away. You didn’t want to recommend this book, so I’m doing it myself.

Flash: But I didn’t know it was about treasure!

Pirate treasure. And there are secrets, too. All kinds of secrets—secret societies, secret good guy laboratories and secret bad guy lairs and of course secret treasure maps.

Flash: I LOVE secrets! Especially top-secret secrets! Give me that book, I want to read it.

Get your paws off, or I’ll sic Edith on you.

Flash: Who’s Edith?

The giant, mutant man-eating tortoise in the story. You’d be a very tasty snack for her.

Flash: Please, Lucy! Puh-leeeeze can I read Smells Like Dog?

Only if you say that I pick good books.

Flash: Drat! Don’t be ridiculous. I’m the boss of this blog. Give me that book!

Say it, or I’ll tell Cindy to take it back to the library right now.

Flash: Fine. You pick good books.

*Giggle giggle* I know I do. Here you go.

Flash: Smells Like Dog by Suzanne Selfors. How could you not like a book about treasure and secrets and giant, mutant man-eating tortoises? If it’s half as good as Lucy says it is, I’m sure you’re going to love it!

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation 2012, Flash Has Attitude, Lucy, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Smells Like Dog

  1. Hayley says:

    I have read that book it’s good!

  2. Dot says:

    One class at PES had heard this book. They said it was very good.

Leave a Reply

