Inkheart

Imagine it were possible to bring the characters from a book to life. Not like when someone reads a book with such enchantment that the characters seems to jump off the pages and into your bedroom . . . but for real. Imagine they could actually climb out of the pages and into our world.

Then, imagine if those characters brought their world into ours.

That’s what it says inside the cover of Inkheart by Cornelia Funke. I don’t know about you, but since I am one of those imaginary characters from a book I think it sounds like great fun! Wouldn’t you like to meet me, Flash, Feline Extraordinaire, for REAL? Or get a chance to wear Mortimer’s Interspecies Translator and talk to animals? Or eat a meatloaf dinner at the Sunflower Café with Ringo?

There’s only one problem—what if the bad guys became real, too? I’m pretty sure you wouldn’t want to meet Boris, the one-eyed man, in a dark alley! (Unless I was there to rescue you, of course.)

Unfortunately, Meggie from Inkheart doesn’t have me or my TEAM to help her when a horrid villain named Capricorn escapes from his book and kidnaps her father. I’d tell you more, but you’d never believe all the crazy things that happen in this story unless you read it for yourself.

If you’re like Ringo and not yet up to reading a long book like Inkheart, there’s an awesome movie version that came out a few years ago. But if you do like long books, you’re in luck! The story doesn’t end  with Inkheart. You can continue Meggie’s adventures with Inkspell and Inkdeath.

You know, reading Inkheart by Cornelia Funke has really inspired me. I’m going to have Dewey look into her premise. If anyone can figure out a way for fictional characters to become real, he can. Then someday, late one night when you’re reading about me, who knows what might happen . . .

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation 2012, Flash Has Attitude, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Inkheart

  1. Dot says:

    I remember that book in the BES library, but I never read it. I will have to go check it out soon from the Loveland Public Library.

  2. Hayley says:

    GOOD JOB! A Lot of my friends have read that book. I think I will when I anm done with all the Hunger Games

  3. Dot says:

    Too late. We rented the movie for tonight. But I would like to read the book. The movie was really good. Phil wants to know what happens in the next two books. He loved the movie, but just won’t read fiction.

Leave a Reply

