When You Reach Me

Dewey here. I told Flash I needed a turn on Operation Story Share this week to tell you about When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead. This is a whisker-tingling story that I must insist you read as soon as possible.

The story is set in 1978 in New York City where Miranda lives with her mother, who is preparing to be a contestant on a game show called “The $20,000 Pyramid.” Then the first note arrives.

Flash: Note? What kind of note? Did it come in the mail?

No, Miranda found it in a book in her bedroom. Among other mysterious things it said, “I am coming to save your friend’s life, and my own.”

Flash: Oooh! That’s a little spooky! What does she do?

At first she thinks it could be a joke or have been written to someone else. But then she finds more notes and realizes whoever is sending them knows all about her, even things that haven’t happened yet.

Flash: What! How can that be?

I suppose you’ll have to read the book to find out, won’t you? I guarantee the ending is amazing!

Flash: You’ve got me convinced. I’m going to read it right away, it sounds awesome! Remember fans, it’s called When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead. Now I’ve got to go, I’ve got a new book to read!

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation 2012, Dewey, Flash Has Attitude, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to When You Reach Me

  1. Dot says:

    Sounds good.

  2. tara says:

    I LOVE this book! Flash must read it immediately! =)

    • I heartily agree with you Tara. Everyone should read this book immediately. And for your information, I am responding to this comment instead of Flash because he is in the corner with his nose stuck in it, already unable to put it down!

  3. Anna says:

    Testing dis out. Hey this is anna. My gravitars name was cutie. 🙂

  4. Anna says:

    Dot, My name is now Anna

  5. Anna says:

    Goodmornin flash boy. 🙂

  6. Dot says:

    Flash, I am having trouble making comments again. We will see if this works.

Leave a Reply

