A Momentous Day!

Drat. Drat! Double Drat! I can’t believe I almost missed it. How could I not pay attention to the date? Why didn’t anyone remind me? Tomorrow is the ONE YEAR anniversary of Operation Blog!

Yes, I said, ONE YEAR! Fifty-two weeks! Three hundred and sixty-six days! (It was a leap year, remember?)

So to celebrate this momentous occasion, I am having an Operation Story Share book give-away. What book, you ask? I am about to tell you. Drum roll please . . .

Freak the Mighty by Rodman Philbrick!

(You might want to re-read the recommendation by Hayley from January 13th.)

Here are the official contest rules. (No whining if you don’t like them. I’m a cat and I can run my contest any way I please.)

  • The contest will last for 1 (one) week.
  • Contestants may make a comment any time between now and midnight on May 3rd. Okay, make that 10:00 pm. You shouldn’t be staying up till midnight on a school night!
  • Each day you make at least one comment, I will put your name in Mortimer’s Interspecies Translator, cleverly disguised as a red and black-checkered hunting cap. So the more days you comment, the more chances you have to win, up to a total of seven. But these have to be actual, semi-intelligent comments. Not something smart-alecky like, “This is a comment.” (See no whining rule above.)
  • Then, at precisely 10:01 pm on May 3rd, I will draw our winner out of the Interspecies Translator and announce their first name on the next day’s post.
  • The winner will then be required to send me another comment with their address. This will NOT be made public. Let me repeat that, ONLY I WILL SEE THEIR ADDRESS, which I will promptly delete, burn, flush down the toilet and otherwise destroy. (After I’ve addressed their package, of course!)

And I will mail them their very own copy of Freak the Mighty, written by Rodman Philbrick, but autographed by yours truly, Flash, Feline Extraordinaire!

So that’s it! Let the Operation Blog 1st Anniversary Contest begin. Ready, set, GO!

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Flash Has Attitude, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A Momentous Day!

  1. Glen says:

    Wow Flash you are a genius. Maybe people who never seem to appreciate your awesome intelligence will comment now.

  2. Dot says:

    It does not seem possible that a year has passed. This has been so much fun.

  3. MjWebWriter says:

    A WHOLE YEAR? Wo-Hoo! Congratulations, Flash! You are going a GREAT job! And now more readers know of your awesomeness. 🙂

  4. Dot says:

    Waiting to see lots of comments. That was a great book. I tried to find the movie, but couldn’t.

  5. Moses says:

    Hey Flash!!! 🙂 I saw a elephant painting today at the Kansas City Zoo. It was like abstract art 😉

  6. Laura says:

    Hey Flash. Wish you had traveled to KC with grandma and grandpa. And you could have brought your paintbrush to paint with the elephants! Oh and you could have gone on an Easter egg hunt with… a dog!!!

    • Oh, man! I knew I should have stowed away! I’m sure if I only had a chance I could be a great painter! That would be fun, but I don’t know if I want to hunt Easter eggs with a butt-sniffer. Did they have cat nip inside?

  7. Moses says:

    Hi Flash 🙂 The elephant paintings are original 8×10. Also you can purchase a autographed copy from the artist, elephant.

    • Huh. Cindy says she would like to see one. I don’t know why. I’m sure I could do better, if only someone would get me an iPad so I could play with “Painting for Cats.”

  8. Laura says:

    No cat nip, but there could have been if you had been here. I really think you would change your mind about dogs if you could meet Phoebe. She is awesome!

  9. Phil says:

    Flash, elephants like paint brushes if the trainer doesn’t get it back fast enough. No problem – they get get it back later!

  10. Dot says:

    Flash, is it raining where you are? Lots of rain here and everything is a beautiful green.

  11. Tara says:

    “No whining if you don’t like them. I’m a cat and I can run my contest any way I please.”

    “Okay, make that 10:00 pm. You shouldn’t be staying up till midnight on a school night!”

    Oh, where would I be without my biweekly dose of Flash humor? =) Happy first birthday, blog!

Leave a Reply

