Regarding The Fountain (And Our Contest Winner!)

Believe me, we cats have it tough. We sacrifice countless important plans to spend hours warming your laps. We allow you to lower your blood pressure by combing and petting us. And what do we get in return? A cupful of dusty pellets and some lukewarm tap water in our bowls. Haven’t you ever thought we might prefer bubbling ice-cold spring water?

Of course you haven’t. Because you don’t have the vision of Florence Waters, President of Flowing Waters Fountains, Etc. She’s one of the characters in the awesome book Regarding the Fountain by Kate Klise. But you don’t have to just take my word for it. Here is what one review said about the story.

What Dry Creek Middle School needs is a plain, functional drinking fountain to replace its leaking old one. What it gets is Florence Waters, an artistic fountain designer who has in mind something with exotic birds, an ice skating rink and chocolate milk dispensers. This rollicking story, told entirely through letters, memos, newspaper articles and telegrams, escalates into a hullabaloo involving a fifth-grade class, an evil school board member, a sinister water company executive and an increasingly bewildered principal who fruitlessly attempts to scale back Florence Waters’s grandiose plans.

Yes, you read that right. The whole book is made up of letters and notes! I know that sounds weird, but it works and is actually quite funny. Even though Regarding the Fountain by Kate Klise is a great story, I can’t really recommend you read it unless you want to end up like me—thirsty and unsatisfied with the boring way your beverages are presented.

Hmmm. Maybe I can look up Florence’s address and send her a quick letter. I bet she could design a totally cool feline drinking fountain. Cindy wouldn’t mind, would she? Of course she wouldn’t! I mean, aren’t I Flash, Feline Extraordinaire? I DESERVE it.

I know, I know, it was mean to make you read through the whole post to find the winner of my Operation Blog First Anniversary Book Give Away Contest.

I will now reach into the hat and pull an entry out with my teeth . . .

And the winner is . . .

HAYLEY!!

**wild applause**

Congratulations, Hayley! You have just won your very own copy of Freak the Mighty, autographed by yours truly. As soon as you send me a comment with your address, I will get it in the mail to you. (And remember, no one will see that information but me!)

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation 2012, Flash Has Attitude, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Regarding The Fountain (And Our Contest Winner!)

  1. Dot says:

    Congratulations Hayley.

  2. Hayley says:

    thanks. hi dot

Leave a Reply

