Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

As promised, we have a Guest Recommender today. Let’s give a warm Operation Story Share welcome to twelve-year-old Hayley!

**wild applause**

Okay, okay, that’s enough. So, Hayley, are you excited to be almost finished with school this year?

Yes, I’m about to finish 6th grade!

That’s awesome! And I understand you’re recommending a book that you just read for school. What’s it called?

Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor. The book takes place in the 1930’s when blacks weren’t treated fairly. So a lot of sad things happen to the Logan family, and the Avery’s. The characters are strong loving people who care about each other.

Dewey helped me research this book and I found out it won an award in 1977. Not just any old award, but the Newbery Medal. According to their website, “The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children’s book published the previous year.”

Wow! That must mean it’s pretty good. What did you like about the book?

I liked it because it wasn’t make believe! This really did happen before to many people in this time period. The book has sad, happy, and many things that everyone will love. Everyone of all ages.

I think you’re right about that. One of the parts that made my whiskers droop was when the kids at the black school were given old, worn-out textbooks. These books weren’t good enough for the white schools anymore. But instead of throwing them away, they gave them to the black kids.

One part I liked was how the black kids got even with the white bus driver for purposely running them off the road all the time. That was mission that a feline secret agent like me would come up with! What was your favorite part?

My favorite part is the last three or four chapters. They are so action packed. They are very sad, so I am warning you about that.

Action packed is right. I won’t give away any more of the story, because I think my fans are going to want to read it themselves. Is there anything more you want to tell them about Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor?

Well, there is some use of not very nice racial expressions.

So, it might be more of a book for older kids to read. Or maybe younger kids could read it with their parents. But it’s definitely worth reading, both for the amazing story and the chance to learn from a piece of our country’s history.

You will love the book! And there is a movie, too.

And if you like it as much as Hayley thinks you will, Dewey also found out there is a prequel, Song of the Trees and a sequel, Let the Circle Be Unbroken.

Thank you again to our Guest Recommender, Hayley!!!

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation 2012, Flash Has Attitude, Kid Recommendation, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry

  1. Dot says:

    Mildred Taylor has written some amazing books. Some are shorter than this one. I used to read them to the kids at BES.

  2. bakingchick says:

    Sorry Flash I haven’t been on in a while! End of the School Year = BUSY

  3. Hayley says:

    I LOVE IT

Leave a Reply

