Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Critique Groups!

Thanks to my superior secret agent observational skills, I’ve noticed that Cindy regularly disappears for hours at a time after saying, “See you later, Flash, I’m off to my critique group.” Since I wasn’t too sure what this meant, the last two times she said it, I stowed away in her bag to find out!

This is what I learned on my secret reconnaissance mission. Critique groups are very important to writers. As I understand it, they are made up of other writers who read your work and give you catnip and a chin scratch when you get good news. I was a little confused though, because they also seem to give you catnip and a chin scratch when you get bad news. So . . . whatever.

Wait! I got so confused that I said the wrong thing. What I should have said is that they give out chocolate and hugs!

Oh, yeah. Besides providing encouragement, critique groups can also help you brainstorm when you’re stuck. (Hmph! I can’t believe Cindy would ever need that when she has such a fine Professional Mews as me!) They also point out ways to make your story stronger, as well as places you’ve forgotten to put a comma.

So there you have it—everything you’ve ever wanted to know about critique groups! No please, hold the applause. A simple thank you is fine.

Okay, if you insist, some catnip and a chin scratch would be nice, too.

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in A Mission, Flash Has Attitude, The New Book, top secret and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Critique Groups!

  1. Dot says:

    Sounds like my kind of people.

  2. bakingchick says:

    I love being in groups! They help you get to know people better! They sound nice

Leave a Reply

