Wonderstruck

Wowie! Guess what I just did?

Me.

Ringo.

You know, the cat who could barely read not that long ago? I finished reading a book with 627 pages! That is not a typo. Six hundred and twenty-seven! Far out, huh? Well, it really did have that many pages, but not all of them had words. Okay, so less than half of them had words. But still!

My recommendation for Operation Story Share today is called Wonderstuck by Brian Selznick. See, it starts out as two stories. Ben’s story is told in words. Rose’s story is told in pictures. My whiskers are twitching, wanting to tell you all about it, but I don’t want to ruin it for you. So I will just share what one reviewer said about it.

In the first of two alternating stories, Ben is struck deaf moments after discovering a clue to his father’s identity, but undaunted, he follows the clue’s trail to the American Museum of Natural History, in New York City. Flash to Rose’s story, told simultaneously through pictures, who has also followed the trail of a loved one to the museum—only 50 years before Ben. Ultimately, their lives collide in a surprising and inspired twist that is breathtaking and life-affirming.

That’s like a lot of fancy words to say that Wonderstuck by Brian Selznick is an AWESOME book, and I totally think you should read it. I know it looks way long and weighs a ton, but dude, if I can do it, so can you! And it’s super fun to “read” a story in pictures!  Would I lie to you?

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation 2012, Operation Story Share, Ringo and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Wonderstruck

  1. Dot says:

    I have to find this one. I love mysteries and it sounds like this book has several.

  2. bakingchick says:

    This is a Great book! I just read it not to longg ago! And I am almost done with the hunger Games books! They are hard to put down

  3. Hayley says:

    There is the book Hugo by the same author it a picture one just like Wonderstruck

  4. Hayley says:

    I thought it was good! And there is a movie of the book Hugo! I think it’s pictures if I remember right! 🙂

Leave a Reply

