A Stowaway’s Day Out

My Professional Mews duties have been keeping me hard at work lately, helping Cindy work on a new draft of my story. So last weekend, this is where I expected we’d be.

I sat waiting at her desk for her to show up, then I heard her downstairs in the kitchen. She was making sandwiches and it wasn’t lunchtime.

Hmmm.

My feline intuition told me something was up. I morphed into Stealth Kitty mode, the better to sneak unseen into her bag. It was a good thing I got inside when I did, because that’s when Cindy picked up the bag along with the picnic lunch and put them in the car. Then she and her husband drove away!

It was bad enough she wasn’t working on my story, but if I hadn’t stowed away in her bag, she would have actually left me behind! Of all the nerve! Can you believe it?

I took a teensy-weensy catnap in the car. Okay, maybe it was almost an hour. When the car stopped, I peeked my head up to find this is where we were.

Lily Lake, just south of Estes Park! After their picnic, Glen took off on a training run up a side trail and Cindy and I walked around the lake.

We saw the first snow of the year on Long’s Peak.

And some beautiful fall color.

By now I was over my annoyance that Cindy hadn’t worked on my story that morning. I guess that’s what Mondays are for. But I still can’t believe she was going to leave her Professional Mews at home. I work just as hard as she does–probably even harder! Don’t I deserve a day out, too?

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Flash Has Attitude, Stow Away, The Book and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Stowaway’s Day Out

  1. Tara Dairman says:

    What a pretty destination! Lucky stowaway! What if Cindy had been on her way to throw trash out at the dump? 🙂

  2. Dot says:

    Glad you got to see all the beauty.

Leave a Reply

