MMGM: Pie


As you can see, this book has a cat on the cover, which is why I had to read it. Personally, I don’t care for pies, except maybe to lick the whipped cream off the top. Unless it was a sardine pie or a tuna fish pie. Now that sounds tasty!

I had a hard time deciding whether or not to recommend Pie by Sarah Weeks. It is mostly a delicious story. That is, except for the last six pages, the epilogue.

Alice’s aunt, Polly, loves to make pies so much she has her own shop—only she doesn’t sell her pies, she gives them away for free! When Aunt Polly unexpectedly dies, the whole town goes into an uproar, wondering what has happened to her secret pie crust recipe. Turns out, she’s left it to her mean cat, Lardo. And she’s left Lardo to Alice.

How do you leave a recipe to a cat? And who broke into Aunt Polly’s pie shop? And did Lardo have help escaping from Alice’s room?

Alice and her friend Charlie have a mystery to solve before the town goes completely crazy! You’ll love the twist at the end, but you might want to stop right there and not read the epilogue. It left a bad taste in my mouth. And for a book about pies, that’s not a good thing.

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation 2012, Flash Has Attitude, MMGM, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to MMGM: Pie

  1. Dot says:

    Now it will be impossible not to read the epilogue. I also am hungry for pie after reading your post. Loveland needs a lady like Aunt Polly.

  2. susan says:

    hi my name is susan i just decided to talk to flash because i really felt like talking to him by the way i wont be able to talk to you for half an hour starting at 6:00 talk to you later bye

  3. I read Pie and enjoyed it. I read the epilogue, too! It doesn’t stand out to me- so I may have to reread the last 6 pages. I liked the mystery and the characters. I enjoyed your review.

Leave a Reply

