MMGM: Stanford Wong Flunks Big Time

Poor Stanford! He’s the first six-grader in the history of Rancho Rosetta Middle School to make the A-team in basketball. Or he was, until he flunked English. Now he has to miss basketball camp to go to summer school. And if he doesn’t pass, he’ll be kicked off the team!

If you like basketball, you’ll love Stanford Wong Flunks Big Time by Lisa Yee. If you don’t like basketball, you’ll still love it, because Stanford has other problems too—like his dad, his grandma, his friends, his tutor, and the cute girl who mistakenly thinks he’s a genius.

Now, a smart cat like me could solve all these problems with a my tail tied behind my back. But Stanford has a little more trouble. You’ll have to read the book to find out how he deals with them.

Lisa Yee has written two more books that are just as good. They tell the story of the same summer from the point of view of two of the other characters. So if you like Stanford Wong Flunks Big Time, I bet you’ll also like Millicent Min, Girl Genius and So Totally Emily Ebers.

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation 2012, Flash Has Attitude, MMGM, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to MMGM: Stanford Wong Flunks Big Time

  1. Dot says:

    I have the last 2 recommendations on hold at the library. Will have to look for this one.

  2. Anna...boarder collie says:

    Thats awesome

  3. sasha says:

    hi flash i talked to you a couple weeks ago i just wnted to learn a little mor about you cuz my freind that goes to ponderosa gave me your card for the website talk to you later

    • It’s nice to meet you, Sasha! I’m glad your friend passed on my card to you. Did you read the “About Flash” page at the top of my blog? It tells lots of things about me. I hope you’ll stop by again soon and let me know if you read any of the books I recommend.

  4. I haven’t heard of this book- but it sounds interesting. It reminds me of my brother who was an awesome basketball player, but school was not his favorite thing and he spent time at summer school. I look forward to reading this one.

  5. Andrea says:

    Thanks for reminding me of this one – I really enjoyed it (enough to buy a copy)! My daughters and I also liked Millicent Min, Girl Genius!

Leave a Reply

