Are Black Cats Really Bad Luck?

Well, that all depends. But since I’m a cat, I believe that automatically makes me an expert on the subject, right? So, pay attention and maybe you’ll learn something.

Here in the good old USA, if a black cat crosses your path, it’s considered bad luck. And according to some, in order to reverse that bad luck, you must first walk in a circle, then go backward across the spot where it happened, and count to 13.

However, if a black cat crosses your path in Great Britain, it’s good luck. Over there, it’s the white cats you have to watch out for. And in Japan, orange cats are bad luck.

Now have you got all that straight?

I’m sorry, but I find these cat superstitions a bit ridiculous, don’t you? People ought to know better than to believe this kind of stuff! Now if you’ll excuse me, I just saw a red-haired human. If I twitch my tail three times and lick my front paw before they leave my sight I just might get extra food in my bowl today.

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Feline Facts, Flash Has Attitude and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Are Black Cats Really Bad Luck?

  1. Dot says:

    Good luck with the extra food. How do you like the snow?

  2. I dont believe that black cats are bad luck. They are as sweet at any other cat in the world 😀 My friend has one and she never has had bad luck. 😛

  3. Anna...boarder collie says:

    I dont believe that black cats are bad luck, they are just as sweet at any other cat is the world 😀

Leave a Reply

