MMGM: Wonder

We’ve all heard the saying, “Don’t judge a book by its cover.” Well, according to the cover of Wonder by R. J. Palacio, this is a story about not judging a boy by his face.

Here’s how the book begins:

I know I’m not an ordinary ten-year-old kid. I mean, sure, I do ordinary things. I eat ice cream. I ride my bike. I play ball. I have an Xbox. Stuff like that makes me ordinary. I guess. And I feel ordinary. Inside. But I know ordinary kids don’t make other ordinary kids run away screaming in playgrounds. I know ordinary kids don’t get stared at wherever they go. . . . My name is August by the way. I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

How could you not be intrigued by that? I know you’re dying to hear more, aren’t you? Okay, I’ll give you the front cover copy, but that’s it—then you’re going to have to get your paws on this amazing book and read it for yourself.

August Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school—until now. He’s about to enter fifth grade at Beecher Prep, and if you’ve ever been the new kid, then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie’s just an ordinary kid, with an extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, despite appearances?

I couldn’t resist this book about an extraordinary boy, seeing as I’m so extraordinary myself. I know you won’t be able to resist it, either.

Wonder by R.J. Palacio. I’m telling you, read it now.

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation 2012, MMGM, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to MMGM: Wonder

  1. Alex Baugh says:

    Thanks for this post on Wonder. I am ashamed to say I still haven’t read this book and have no excuse for it, but I think I will have to get it after reading the quotes you include here.

  2. I really loved this book. It’s so fun to read and has a depth to it as well; lets you see things a little different after reading it. It is funny, heartwarming and challenges your thinking – all around great! Thanks for featuring it.

  3. This is one of my favorite books that I read this year. The story is so well-crafted and I just love Auggie. We were so excited when we got to interview RJ Palacio on our blog. The story is one that I still think about. Be kinder than necessary. So true!

Leave a Reply

