MMGM: Katerina’s Wish

I know, I know, you’re not supposed to judge a book by its cover. But I have to admit this cover sucked me right in and the story did not disappoint. For today’s Operation Story Share I’m recommending you get your paws on a copy of Katerina’s Wish by Jeannie Mobley.

Don’t believe me? Then read this:

Katerina has a dream. It’s her papa’s dream, too. Her family came to America to buy their own farm. But a year later, Papa is still working in the dangerous coal mine. Each day, the farm seems farther away.

Then Katerina sees a fish that reminds her of the carp that granted three wishes in an old folktale. When her younger sisters hear the story, they immediately make wishes. Trina doesn’t believe in such silliness—but what is she to think when her sisters’ wishes come true?

A farm is still too big to wish for. But, with the help of the neighbor’s handsome son, Trina starts building her dream with hard work and good sense. Then tragedy strikes, and it seems that nothing Trina wishes for will ever come true again.

Ha! What did I tell you? If you’re anything like me, you will love Katerina’s Wish because you will immediately fall in love with Trina and her determination to make a better life for her family.

You need to read Katerina’s Wish by Jeannie Mobley. Trust me—have I ever steered you wrong?

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation 2012, Flash Has Attitude, MMGM, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

