Loving the Loveland Public Library

HeadshotAnyone can walk into a library, get a library card and walk out with a book to read. How cool is that?

Well, almost anyone. They do have a silly rule against giving them to imaginary cats like me—something ridiculous about no proof of address.

I love my library anyway. But I wish they’d just give me my own card. Then I wouldn’t have to wait on Cindy all the time. I could carry my very own library card over in my little imaginary teeth past this beautiful sculpture, though the automatic doors, and peruse the bookshelves to my heart’s desire whenever I wanted.

Library Sculpture

But then there would be the problem of carrying my books home without arms and hands and opposable thumbs.

On second thought, maybe our system works pretty well. I tell Cindy what books I want to read, she walks over to check them out on her card and delivers them to me. I don’t even have to get up off the couch!

Cindy says this reminds her of when she was a little girl. Back then, the Loveland Public Library had another silly rule. Kids could only check out two books. Two! Well, this was totally unacceptable—a reader like Cindy could read two books in no time and then what would she do until the next trip to the library?

Old Library CardLuckily her mother was sympathetic to this dilemma and used her grownup card to check out the tall stacks of books Cindy wanted to bring home. Problem solved!  Here is a picture of Cindy’s first library card. No bar codes on this baby! Does anyone else remember when they looked like this?

Even though public libraries sometimes have silly rules, they’re still the BEST! Thousands and thousands of books gathered together in one place, available to all to read for free. What could be better than that?

Loveland Public Libary

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Cindy, Flash Has Attitude, Library and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Loving the Loveland Public Library

  1. Dot says:

    Life would be much poorer without Public Libraries. I love ours. It has brought much joy into our lives.

Leave a Reply

