Tough Love From a Professional Mews

Headshot

There are days when being a Professional Mews is a whisker-frazzling job. Days like these:

Me: Better sit your butt in front of that computer and make some words.

Cindy: Yeah, you’re right. I just have to take a shower first.

Shower

Me: Okay. But then you have to write.

Cindy: Let me just fold this one load of laundry. Then I’m sure I can concentrate better.

Laundry

Me: Write now. Laundry later.

Cindy: Actually, the floors are a mess. I’ll give them a quick vacuum before I write.

Vacuum

Me: The floors are fine! Write!

Cindy: I should really go on a walk. Exercise is important for my health, you know. And besides, I can brainstorm while I walk.

Shoes

Me: You can brainstorm with your fingers on the keyboard, too!

Cindy: I could read some blogs and see what’s happening on Facebook. That’s practically like networking, and networking is very important for writers, right?

Facebook 2

Me: *growling* Get off the stupid internet and open your document!

Cindy: I’m tired of sitting at the computer now. Maybe I’ll read one of those great new middle-grade books I just brought home from the library. Reading in your genre is something all writers need to do.

Spike in Books

Me: *ears laid back and tail switching* Put down that book, missy! If you don’t start writing by the time I count to three you’ll get to meet my razor-sharp claws up close and personal! One . . . Two . . .

Cindy: Fine! Look, I’m writing, okay? You don’t have to get your tail in a knot and be all hissy about it.

Me: Sigh. Mission accomplished—finally! They don’t call me a “Professional” Mews for nothing. It’s not a job for the faint-hearted.

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in A Mission, Cindy, Flash Has Attitude, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tough Love From a Professional Mews

  1. Too funny! There are always so many ways to procrastinate- and even better when they are disguised as things that are good for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

