Rocky Mountain High! (2.3 Miles, Give or Take a Little)

HeadshotMy ears perked up when I heard Cindy talking about Trail Ridge Road just before Memorial Day. “I hope it’s open,” she said. “I don’t want to have to drive the long way to Grand Lake.”

Hmmm. Did I hear another trip being planned? After having such a good time at the Great Sand Dunes, I was preparing my strategy to stow away again. Only this time I didn’t have to, because Cindy invited me along!

But when I asked her what she meant about the road being closed, she told me she was busy packing and I should look it up. So I did.

Turns out Trail Ridge Road is a stretch of U.S. Highway 34 that travels from Estes Park, CO through Rocky Mountain National Park to Grand Lake, CO. It’s only the highest continuous paved road in the United States!

Altitude Sign

This sign wasn’t even close to the top. Nope, the tippy-top measures a whopping 12,183 feet above sea level!

And it’s closed every winter because of HUGE snowdrifts above tree line. And when I say huge, I’m not kidding.

Snow Drift

See that pole sticking up through the snow? Those poles line the road on both sides so the snowplow drivers can tell where the road is and don’t end up dead hundreds of feet down the side of the mountain. It must be very exciting to be a Trail Ridge Road Snowplow Operator and see these kinds of views all day while you’re working!

Trail Ridge

Each spring, they try to open the road by Memorial Day weekend, but they don’t always make it. I sure was glad they did this year, so I could experience the snow first paw. Brrr! I was glad to get back in the car before I blew away in the crazy wind!

Flash on Snow

Can you see what I wrote in the snow when no one was looking?

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Stow Away and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rocky Mountain High! (2.3 Miles, Give or Take a Little)

  1. Dot says:

    I want to be there, but bet the snow is nearly gone by now.

Leave a Reply

