MMGM: Zip

Zip

Sometimes books just LEAP off library shelves into your paws. That’s what happened with today’s Operation Story Share, Zip by Ellie Rollins. As soon as I saw that cover, I knew I had to read this book. And believe me, the story did not disappoint!

Check out this blurb from the inside flap:

When Lyssa’s mother died, so did the magic—that special something that always made the sunflowers grow taller and the strawberry jelly taste sweeter. Now that her mother is gone, Lyssa struggles to get used to a life of the Ordinary with her kind but clueless stepfather in Kirkland, Washington. But secretly, she longs for change.

Then one day change does come, when the most peculiar occurrence brings Lyssa alarming news about her childhood home. With no time to lose, she sets off on a two-wheeled cross-country journey to get back to Texas. But can she get there before the clock runs out?

On her odyssey, Lyssa meets some decidedly unusual people, from rowdy cowgirls to a chorus line of singing mermaids. With new friends by her side and the winds of change at her back, Lyssa discovers adventure at every turn—and uncovers her mother’s magic, little by little, all along the way.

Oooh. What did I tell you? This is a story about a girl coming to terms with her mom’s death. But instead of being grim and serious, it’s whimsical and full of magic. Lyssa is spunky and resourceful and determined to get from Washington to Texas on her beloved scooter and the $13.00 in her backpack. Someday I want to go on a journey like Lyssa. And after you read Zip by Ellie Rollins, I predict you will, too!

About flashthecatblog

I am the Professional Mews for Cindy Strandvold, as well as a huge fan of middle-grade books. Which, coincidentally, is the age Cindy writes for.
This entry was posted in Book Recommendation 2013, MMGM, Operation Story Share and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MMGM: Zip

  1. Akoss says:

    And you’ve done it again!!!
    The first thing I did after reading your review was to check if my library has a copy.
    I’m happy to report that they do! 🙂

  2. I have never heard of this one- but you can bet I will be looking it up when I go to the library tomorrow. Sounds awesome!

Leave a Reply

